The General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. John Boadu, on Wednesday, August 21, 2019, officially inaugurated the party’s National Parliamentary Appeals Committee at the party headquarters.

This is in line with the party’s guidelines and modalities for the conduct of its parliamentary primaries in orphan constituencies in all regions of the country.

The committee will, among other things, receive and resolve petitions or appeals from disgruntled aspiring parliamentary candidates from Thursday, August 22 to Monday, August 26, 2019.

The members of the 7-member committee were sworn in under oath, administered by the General Secretary of the party, after which copies of the vetting reports from all the 16 regions of the country were handed over to the committee for their indulgence.

The National Parliamentary Appeals Committee is composed of the following members:

  1. Peter Mac Manu, (Chairman)
  2. Hon. Elizabeth Ohene
  3. Hon. Cecilia Dapaah
  4. Hon. S.K. Boafo
  5. Lawyer Joyce Opoku Boateng
  6. Lawyer Emmanuel Darkwah
  7. Lawyer Garry Nimako
  8. Evans Nimako (Secretary)

The committee has up to the 5th of September to present its final report to the General Secretary. After receipt of the report, the party will hold a National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting on September 12, 2019, whereas Notice of Polls will be published by the national secretariat on September 14, 2019, and parliamentary primaries will be held on September 28, 2019.

These timelines supersede all previous dates communicated to the public in cases of variations.

Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *